What are the best portfolio schools out there?

Basically, I'm a 4th year student finishing up my bachelor's degree in marketing in Canada and I've decided that advertising is what I want to pursue. Problem is, I dont have any creative samples or a porfolio, just ideas and an artistic soul that I havent really had the chance to show. I don't have the necessary technical skills, but I want to learn. So I have been looking at what I could do after I graudate to step up my game. I won't be able to get a job on the creative side of advertising (art direction or copywriting) with merely bachelor's degree in marketing. I need to sharpen my artistic skills with a really hands-on school.

I've been looking at Miami Ad School ever since I stumbled upon it a couple of days ago, and it seems to be a great school (and expensive :S), but I've read some reviews and not all of them are good. Creative Circus, VCU Virginia, Brainco and the Chicago Portfolio School have shown up on my search as well. I haven't done any research in schools in Canada, which I am open to looking at, or schools abroad. Do any of you have any suggestions as to what school I should attend, or even any tips that would help me get a start in an advertising career?

I also need to mention that I am itching to get out of the country and experience life from a global perspective. But if there is a good school Canada that seems to fit the criteria, then I am open to it.

Thanks! :D

15 comments

ivan's picture
ivan

Check out our online creative school: http://mediabistro.com/creative-pro

Ivan Raszl, admin of AotW

lahaff's picture
lahaff
1520 pencils

Miami ad school is the only school that's internationally famous of the ones you mentioned. So I guess that's your best bet if you want to work abroad. And their best campus seems to be located in Hamburg, Germany.

Hammad S's picture
Hammad S
484 pencils

What do you mean by best campus? (How are you comparing them?) ..I'm trying to decide as well!!