Can one become both an art director and copywriter?

It just seems to me a lot of agencies or freelancers work in duo's. Typical art director + copywriter. I suppose this is a proven way to be very efficient, but when Luke Sullivan said "good copywriters can think visually; good art directors can write", I started wondering. Can one become like a hybrid of both these functions and do the job by himself or is it guaranteed to be less good compared to such a duo?

I think this method has benefits as well. Cause I think if one person can do both these jobs there would be an even more seamless connection between the art and the copy.

But hey I'm just a student. I don't have any work experience apart from internships. But I try to question everything though.

17 comments

alvinpck's picture
alvinpck
1467 pencils

What Luke said is true.

I'm an art director. I write a little. Though I'm not an expert in it, at least it's a head start for my partner to take over.
Some writers I worked before can think visually. Good in rough sketches too. Exactly the value I'm looking for in a writer.

It's always better to write down your thoughts/ideas down before an execution.

To answer your question, there is no correct answer to it. Both the functions overlap.

Jaap Grolleman's picture
Jaap Grolleman
7004 pencils

Yes but you still work with your partner. Could you imagine improving your copywriting skills and work solo whilst maintaining the same quality of work (or even better)?

Guest's picture

There certainly are people who can do both, there are even more who think they can do both :-)
(one or two 'lucky strikes' do not make a writer an art director or vice versa, you have to prove consistently across a variety of jobs that you can maintain the same high standards for both disciplines)
What often happens is that so-called 'solo' creatives tend to work in a way that leans towards their strengths ... not always, but often.