The Good, The Bad, The Ugly ?

Hello everyone,

I'm an advertising student in my second year of study and this is my first time posting work onto these forums. There are a lot of people on this board that I aspire to be like within the creative advertising industry, so I'm always striving to challenge myself, learn, and put in the effort to produce something interesting. I'm seeking criticism that will help me learn new ways to approaching ideas, and how to execute these ideas.

So, what's the good, the bad, and the ugly ?

I've got two ads that I've created for a school assignment. A traditional outdoor board, and a non-traditional out of home advertisement.

5 comments

OUTSTANDAGE's picture
OUTSTANDAGE
85 pencils

The first one I'm unclear on. Were watching over you, and your protected. That's what I'm guessing. Anyways it was hard to derive. Could just be my brain and the lack of caffeine I've had today. The 2nd one I don't really dig. I seems like a comedic stretch, which are never natural. That's my two cents.

sah dah tay my dammy. (The best copywriter ever whose name is Pootie Tang)

AdillyWay's picture
AdillyWay
128 pencils

Well the first ad for Aviva insurance was specifically tailored towards their identity theft insurance coverage. The idea behind it, is that the family are fingerprints and Aviva is taking a closer look with the magnifier to ensure that they are protected with security. The second Ad, I was trying to play with the "Drive the wrinkles away" where the cars on the road are literally driving over the jeans (Because the ad is placed on an actual city street) and they look like Tefal steam irons.

JKW's picture
JKW
229 pencils

Keep it simple. If it has to be explained, chances are that it's too complicated and too forced. If the target audience has to make too many connections your initial idea/benefit/usp will go missing.