The Future of Advertising?

Hi,

After ten years of jumping from job to job, I'm trying to narrow down what I want to do and stay on one path. Right now, I'm a junior designer at a company specializing in UI/UX and still have a lot to learn. At the same time, I'm also taking an online course in copywriting where I'm mostly creating print ads. My dream job would be a Creative or Art Director

The reason why it has taken me a long time to focus on something is every time I start a new job, it soon becomes obsolete and I get laid off. Journalism and music video are some examples. I enjoy creating print ads but wondering how much longer they will even be relevant. Would love to hear from people currently working in advertising what your thoughts are about how the digital world is changing advertising and what that means for people currently building a portfolio. I think I should stick with copywriting, but do you think it's useful to be doing UI/UX design at the same time?

9 comments

adbotron's picture
adbotron
10 pencils

It sounds like you don't really know what you want. You say your dream job would be an Art Director...yet you're studying copywriting? That doesn't make much sense. If you want to be an art director, then you need to find a copywriter who already has solid skills and build your portfolio, which to answer your question, should certainly have traditional media like print ads, but also new media as well. Print will always be relevant, but not by itself.

Nalini's picture
Nalini
6 pencils

Print Ads might be dimnishing but not to forget ; if u believ you posess some talent this would be the best opportunity for you to Come up with!
Beat the digital media with your print ads!

structuralengineering's picture
structuralengin...
6 pencils

Print media is always the best. Adbotron is right, you should not distract yourself.

cecille's picture
cecille
2 pencils