How to build a portfolio?!

Hello all,

as a student who is 100% determined to start a career in advertising i started a "agency" with 2 friends. Basically we do some webdesign stuff, graphic design on the side while tryng to make fictional ads to build a portfolio. We do this to try and get a real assignment in advertising and if our agency fails, we still have a great portfolio to apply at an agency.

But heres the thing. I can draw "semi-good" (im no artist by any means, but i can visualise whats in my mind good). But the problem is, when we actually start working on an ad in photoshop (as our 3D skills arent good enough atm to combine with PS) the major problem always is...footage.

Every idea we have is basically impossible for us to do since we do not have the budget as students to buy or make footage to use.

For example:

recently i was working on an ad where i needed a foto of a bar (ofc in the exact pov as i drawn, including how the bar looks), with 2 guys sitting there, and a classic bartender.

- I dont know a bar like this
- People ask for money so as a student thats not really possible
- the quality of the photo will be...meh (we dont have top quality equipment)
- and searching google/stock websites for images for 3 weeks resulted in nothing

So my question is, when you didnt work for an agency and you had something in mind. How did you final the ad? where did you get footage? Did you draw it with sick photoshop skills? combine 3d? searched stocks?

Would love some input as we feel stuck!

15 comments

Shawali's picture
Shawali
8429 pencils

To avoid all this "finding the right image" conundrum, I usually resort to what I called "advanced sketching": not a top notch illustration (which would be unable to do) but better than a simple hand drawn drawing. This way, you have no limits to your imagination and it makes your ads look relatively good without the use of shitty images from the web.